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 Summary of changes: 
 
 

2014 Changes 
 

TR Call D2  New Question 2 added 
 

TR Call L7  New Call 
 
TR Call M10  New Call 

 
 
2015 Changes 
 

TR Call L8  New Call 
 
TR Call L10  New Call 
 
TR Call M11  New Call 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 



Section D - The Windward Leg                  Supplement January 2014 
   

TR CALL  D2  
 
Rule 10 On Opposite Tacks 
Rule 16 Changing Course 
 
 
Question 1 
 

On a windward leg in light winds, B on starboard tack and Y on port tack are on 
converging courses. At approximately three lengths from B, Y bears away to avoid B. 
B then bears away, so that the boats remain on a collision course. Both Y and B 
continue to bear away, until they finally pass one another with the wind 
approximately abeam. Y protests. What should the call be? 
 

 

B1 

Y1 

Y2 

Y4 

B2 

B4 
B3 

Y3 

 
 
 
Answer 1 
 

Penalize B. After the start rule 16.2 prohibits a starboard tack boat from changing 
course if that requires a port tack boat, that is keeping clear by sailing to pass astern 
of her, to have to change course immediately to continue to keep clear. 
 
When B alters course between position 1 and 2, Y does not have to make an 
immediate change of course, so no rule is broken. 
 
When B alters course between positions 2 and 3, she breaks rule 16.2. Boat Y was 
keeping clear by sailing to pass astern of B, but after B’s latest change of course Y 
has to change course immediately to continue to keep clear. 
 
When the wind is stronger or the boats are moving faster, if B performs a similar 
manoeuvre she will break rule 16.2 when further from Y. 
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Question 2  
 
B on starboard tack and Y on port tack are on a beat to windward. Y bears away to 
pass behind B. While Y’s course is still above B’s stern, B starts bearing away too. Y 
does not need to respond immediately to B’s course change. The boats bear away 
until both are sailing downwind courses. B continues to bear away and now Y must 
respond immediately. Y protests. What should the call be? 
 

 
Answer 2  
 
When Y starts bearing away she begins sailing to pass astern of B, even though her 
course is still above B’s stern. B is subject to rule 16.2 and must not change course if 
as a result Y would immediately need to change course to continue keeping clear. 
However, when B does bears away, Y has no need to change course immediately to 
continue keeping clear of B; B does not break rule 16.2. 
 
Later, when Y does need to change course immediately to continue keeping clear of 
B, Y is no longer sailing a course to pass astern of B and therefore rule 16.2 no longer 
applies. 
 
If Y is unable to continue keeping clear in a seamanlike way, B breaks rule 16.1. 
Penalise B. 
 
If Y is able to continue keeping clear in a seamanlike way, no penalty. 
 
The expression 'sailing to pass astern' in rule 16.2 refers to the overall actions of the 
port-tack boat clearly attempting to pass astern of the starboard-tack boat, and not 
necessarily to the course or heading she is sailing at any moment.  
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TR CALL L7 
 
 
Rule D4.2 Terminating a Series 
Rule D4.4 Ties in a Completed Round-Robin Series 
Rule D4.5 Ties in an Incomplete Round-Robin Series 
 
An event plans to hold a round robin series followed by a semi-final and a final. The 
round robin series is scheduled to have three round robins. Light winds force the 
round robin series to be terminated when 36 out of 45 races of the second round robin 
have been sailed. 

 
Question 1  
 

Does the decision to terminate the second round robin mean the round robin series is 
‘complete’? 
 
Answer 1 
 

No. The act of terminating a longer-specified series does not mean the series is 
completed. 
 
Question 2  
 

Would the answer to Question 1 be different if the number of round robins required 
to complete the round robin series was not specified in the sailing instructions? 
 
Answer 2  
 

Yes. The act of terminating an unspecified series completes the series. 
 
Question 3 
 

Rule D4.2(b) advises that, if 80% of a round robin has been sailed, that round robin 
should be considered complete for scoring purposes. Does this mean it is also 
considered complete for tie-break purposes? 
 
Answer 3 
 

Yes. Tie-breaking is part of the scoring process. 
 
Question 4 
 

Can a round robin that is deemed complete under rule D4.2(b) be used to break a tie 
under rule D4.5? 
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Answer 4 
 

No. See Answer 3. The second round robin is deemed to be complete. Only 
incomplete round robins may be used to break a tie under rule D4.5. Therefore, as per 
the last sentence of rule D4.5, ties shall be broken in accordance with rule D4.4 and 
the second round robin would be used in this process. 
 
NOTE:  Although no rule prevents a race committee from terminating one round 
robin and then ��� starting another round robin in the same series, this is not good 
practice ��� and would be inappropriate in most circumstances. 
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TR CALL M10 
 
 
Rule 2  Fair sailing 
Rule D1.1(d)   Changes to the Rules of Part 2 — Room to Tack 
Rule D2.3  Penalties Initiated by Umpires 
 
Question 1 
 

Rule D1.1(d) requires clear and repeated arm signals, in addition to hails. If there is 
an arm signal but no hail from Y, what action should the umpires take 

 
a)  if B protests? 
b)  on their own initiative? 
 
Answer 1 
 

a)  When the umpires are certain that no hail for room to tack was made, then the 
signal for room to tack has not been made. (The umpires may be certain there 
was no hail if they have had no difficulty hearing other calls from a similar 
position.) For the purpose of the rules of Part 2 they should act as if there has 
been no signal. 

 
b)  The umpires may decide that Y has broken rule D2.3(g) and penalize her. They 

could also, in an extreme or repeated case, initiate a hearing under rule 2, Fair 
Sailing. 

 
Question 2 
 

If there is a hail but no arm signal, is the answer the same? 
 
Answer 2 
 

Yes. 
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TR CALL L8 
  
 
Rule 16.1 Changing Course 
Rule 24.2 Interfering with Another Boat 
 
 
Question 1 
 
The boats are at a leeward mark to be rounded to port. Y and Z are on the same team. 
Y has rounded the mark and is on the leg to the next mark. Y then reverses her course 
and returns to trap B so that teammate Z can pass B.  Between positions 5 and 6, B 
starts to round the mark, but is prevented from doing so by Y, a right-of-way leeward 
boat. B changes course to keep clear and there is no contact. B protests. What should 
the call be? 
 

 
 
Answer 1 
 
Penalize Y.  
 
At position 5, B is sailing on another leg of the course than Y. B is still on the 
downwind leg and Y is on the leg to the next mark. B is windward boat and required 
to keep clear of Y. B keeps clear by luffing. Y was not sailing her proper course when 
she caused B to change course to avoid her. Y breaks rule 24.2. 
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When the umpires are certain that Y and B are on the same leg, rule 24.2 no longer 
applies 
 
At position 6, Y has returned to the previous leg (see also TR Call L6) and B has not 
yet rounded the mark, nor is she sailing towards the next mark.  
 
 
Question 2 
 
The boats are at a leeward mark to be rounded to port. Y has rounded the mark and is 
on the leg to the next mark. As B enters the zone, Y bears away to gybe and sail back 
to the mark in order to trap B. B rounds the mark and starts sailing to the next mark. 
After position 3, Y luffs to a collision course with B. Both boats luff head to wind 
and there is no contact. Blue protests. What should the call be? 

 
 
 
Answer 2 
 
No penalty.  
 
At position 4, B is rounding the mark on the required side and is sailing towards the 
next mark. The boats are no longer on different legs. Rule 24.2 does not apply. B is 
subject to rule 10 and Y must comply with rule 16.1 when she changes course. B 
keeps clear by luffing and Y complies with rule 16.1 by luffing to enable B to keep 
clear.   
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TR CALL L10 
 
Rule 16.1 Giving Room 
Rule 19 Room to Pass an Obstruction 
Rule 64.1 Penalties and Exoneration 
 

Question 
Yellow and Blue, overlapped on port tack, are approaching an obstruction which can 
be passed on either side. Rule 17 does not apply to Blue.  
 
Blue is sailing to pass to leeward of the obstruction, but from position 2 Blue luffs 
quickly to pass to windward of the obstruction. Yellow responds immediately, but is 
unable to keep clear of Blue. There is contact between them. Both boats protest. What 
should the call be? 
 
Answer 
Penalise Blue.    
 
When Blue changes course to pass to windward of the obstruction she must give 
Yellow room to keep clear under rule 16.1. Blue fails to do so and breaks rule 16.1.  
 
As a result of Blue breaking rule 16.1, Yellow is compelled to break rules 11 and 
19.2(b). Yellow is therefore exonerated under rule 64.1(a).  
 
 

When a right of way boat on a course to pass on one side of an obstruction changes 
course to pass on the other side, she must comply with any applicable rules of Section 
A or B. 



Section M - The Umpiring Process  Supplement January 2015 
 

TR CALL M11 
 
 
Rule 18.2(b) Giving Mark-Room 
Rule 21 Exoneration 
Rule D2.2 Protests by Boats 
Rule D2.3(a) Penalties Initiated by Umpires 
 
 
Question 
 

Y is overlapped on the inside of B when B enters the zone of a mark to be rounded to 
port. The umpires agree that Y touched the mark. No boat protests and no boat takes 
a penalty. What action should the umpires take? 

Answer 
 

If the umpires decide that B gave Y mark-room, they should act under rule D2.3(a) 
and penalise Y for breaking rule 31. 
 
If the umpires decide that Y touched the mark because B failed to give her mark-
room, they should make no signal. Y broke rule 31 by touching the mark; however, 
she was sailing within the mark-room to which she was entitled and is exonerated 
under rule 21(b). 
 
Although B broke rule 18.2(b), she cannot be penalised under rule D2.2 because no 
boat protested, and rule D2.3 does not permit umpires to initiate a penalty when a 
boat on the other team breaks a rule of Part 2. 
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